Reviews



Rating average of 5.0/5 stars from 33 reviews.
5 starstarstarstarstar Yarra Valley Must Do when visiting Melbourne Area
I am not a wine person at all, but enjoyed learning about the wine, the delicious lunch, photography opportunities and overall experience. Our guide / driver Bill was great. He was informative and patient with our diverse group (teens, middle aged, and seniors from Chicago :) He has an established relationship with the wineries and therefore, they were great hostesses. I would have to admit one of the five wineries wasn't as exciting, but I wouldn't trade the overall experience. Rita at Tokar Estate was particularly the hostess with the most-est. It also happened to be where we had a delicious and picturesque lunch al fresco. Annelise at DeBortoli was super nice and patient with us as well. I would advise you to be social with others on the tour; it makes it more fun especially in the van. We made friends with some awesome Canadians. It is a full day event. From on time pick up to drop off, truly a wonderful experience. Thank you ~ Bill
Amorups - May 16, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Yarra Valley Wine Tour
Nikki was an excellent, knowledgeable guide and the varied selection of wineries visited gave an insight into large and boutique wineries.
We were a small group that got on well together and thoroughly enjoyed the wine tastings and a good lunch.
Just a few words of warning - if you are a tourist from overseas please check your dutyfree allowance for your return to your native land. We bought too many bottles. The excess will have to be drunk before we leave Australia. Life can be hard!

Carlisle - June 22, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar A brilliant wine tour to off the beaten track vineyards in the Yarra Valley
I joined a small group guided by Nicci around the vineyards of the Yarra Valley for the day. She had designed our tour to include a brilliant array of vineyards including award winning ones, an Italian one, French one, Polish and also Chinese owned one. The range of wines at each was fantastci and many of the vineyards we visited had been in the family for a few generations. Nicci knew the owners (and their dogs) at each so we had excellent insights into each vineyard that you would never get on a usual tour. At one we had wines paired with cheese from Australia and France, at another we did a tasting to select our wines for lunch and at another the owner gave us a talk on the history of his award winning wines in the area, grapes and production. It was a brilliant second visit to the area and I have come away with a wonderful selection of wines and greater insight into the area from Nellie Melba's home to the unusually trained sheep dog to the history of wine in the area. Highly recommended as a great day out in a small group and of excellent quality for tourists or Melbourne locals.
664sss - June 15, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Penguins Private Tour with Epicurean
This is an all round informative and fun tour. Bill, as has been described here is a very good story teller and knows a lot oabout the wildlife and penguins you will see on this tour. With an early afternoon pick up by the cosy amd comfortable Epicurean van you will be entertained the whole day. The visit to a local winery is a nice touch. The restuarant served really good food with a glass of wine. We decided to choose this tour with their attention to detail which included Penguins Plus seating to watch the Penguin Parade. The penguins are so adorable and this is a fantastic tour to do when in Melbourne. Make sure that you are rugged up as it is super cold with the wait for the penguins. The Penguins Plus pass, as part of the tour cost also came with a ranger speech so we learnt a bit about the penguins before we saw them!. The journey back was quick and warm with an interesting podcast that Bill played for us. We can recommend Epicurean Food and Wine Tours and their private Penguins Tour very highly
Jacksondownunder - June 06, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Amazing, Informative, Fantastic and Delicious Experience in the Yarra Valley
Well even though I had read these wonderful reviews, I was still surprised by our fantastic tour through family wineries in the Yarra Valley. Even the long drive to the first winery was fun and informative and didn't feel long at all. Bill was a wonderful host full of knowledge and humour (and very well respected at the wineries as well!)
Don't spend all your dollars at the first winery! There are so many fantastic wines to taste. Lunch was lovely. We had a lovely group of seven. Five of us from Queensland and the other 2 ladies from the U.S. A delightful blend of guests who all brought something to the day.
Every winery had something to fantastic to offer and the views at every one of them was amazing!
We can not recommend highly enough Bill and the team at Epicurean Tours.

Michelle M - June 02, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Great day in the Yarra Valley
Wife and I attended this tour and had a great experience. Bill is a great tour guide and had great knowledge of the area. We visited some great family wineries, tasted some amazing wines and good cheeses. Also enjoyed great lunch at Tokar Estate. Would highly recommend and will definitely be a trying their peninsula tour next time I'm in Melbourne. Book at www.epicureantours.com.au
Mark S - June 01, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Way to explore outside the Melbourne City
From start to finish, this was a fantastic tour. Bill, our driver and guide, was prompt, funny and knowledgeable. He introduced us to 5 outstanding wineries, pointing out lovely views and we even got to see some wild kangaroos! Leisurely tour, with perfect timing between each stop. Would highly recommend!
Show less

JessicaM - April 27, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Day trip to the Mornington Peninsula
Just arrived back from a great day out to the Mornington Peninsula. It was a pleasure to spend the day with our guide Nicci. She was a great host, very knowledgeable, designed the tour to suit our tastes and let us go at our own pace. We would highly recommend Epicurean and would definitely book a tour through them again.
SydneyCouple - May 01, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar What a delight!!
This was an all day tour. Our tour guide, Bill, was extremely knowledgeable with a great sense of humor including some funny jabs at us, Americans, which was tastefully done. The tour included five stops for wine tasting and one stop for lunch. The lunch was very good. The wineries we visited were a selection of small boutique ones as well as a couple of larger ones. The wines are all excellent. Be advised not to drink every drop or you will end up wasted half way through the tour. They give you a lot of tastings and some of them pour a lot more than needed to taste. All in all, this was well worth the one day and the money we spent in Melbourne. We highly recommend it.
RossP - May 01, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Lovely Way To Spend the Day in the Yarra Valley
We booked this wine tour for our last day in Melbourne, and we we far from disappointed! Highlights included a cheese and wine pairing session, a delicious lunch, and spotting kangaroos hiding in vines. A big thanks to Bill, who was a great guide...good knowledge, and lots of banter. Highly recommended
12sjs - May 10, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Fantastic Day at Yarra Valley
My friend and I went on this tour on 28 May and Bill was our tour guide. The tour group was small enough for everyone to be able to enjoy the day and Bill made sure we had a good time. At my request, we also had an opportunity to visit Dominique Portet and tried some of their great wines. But what set this tour apart from its peer was the visit to Dixons Creek Estate where we got to meet with the wine grower Graeme Miller. As a wine student, this was a truly unique experience for me. Bill was a very great tour guide and he knew the area very well. He also managed to beat the crowd on the weekend so we got to visit vineyards and have lunch before the big tour groups arrived.
Thita_n - June 04, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Awesome Wine Tour to the Yarra Valley
This was a brilliant experience and one that you will enjoy. Lots of amazing wines from the region with a heap of Knowledge and entertainment from Bill our driver. Highly recommended to everyone
Denise B - May 09, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Amazing Experience
My husband and I did this on our honeymoon and had an incredible time. Our tour guide was fantastic and super acccomadating. The wine pairings were great and we loved learning about the history of Yarra Valley. The lunch was delicious and in such a beautiful place. We loved how they took us to up and coming vineyards not just the high profile ones. Overall great experience that we would definitely recommend!!
RhiaGold - May 17, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar A Very Memorable day in the Yarra Valley
Nicci has helped put together a really wonderful food and wine experience in the Yarra Valley for our group of 11 ladies. There was a lot of time and effort in the planning of this day and Nicci could not have been more accommodating. We visited 3 wineries and had a personalised tasting and/or tour at each one, plus a fabulous banquet lunch at another great venue. Our driver and tour guide extraordinaire was Bill who was fun, helpful and knowledgable ... loved the sing-a-long on the trip home!!
The tour was a great success and we look forward to taking another group of lucky people out with Epicurean again soon.

Small Gatherings - May 22, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Awesome Wine Tour
This was a brilliant experience to the Yarra Valley with Epicurean Food and Wine Tours and one that you will enjoy. Lots of amazing wines from the region with a heap of Knowledge and entertainment from Bill our driver.
Highly recommended to everyone

Denise B - May 23, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar One of the best wine tours
Nikki took us around on a private tour. She was absolutely fantastic, guided us through the Yarra and made some fantastic winery suggestions. She was chatty and easy to have a laugh with! I honestly don't know where the 6 hours went - very enjoyable experience. 10/10
Visited May 2017

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g255100-d677394-r489517426-Epicurean_Fine_Food_and_Wine_Tours-Melbourne_Victoria.html#

Lorraine D - May 31, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Fantastic Tour of the Yarra Valley with Epicurean

Nicci took my partner and I on a very personal tour of the Yarra Valley. It was for my partners Birthday and she was not let down.

Her knowledge of the area and different locations was fantastic and any questions we asked were answered in great detail. Her knowledge of Koalas is brilliant and funny too!

Thanks Nicci,

Phil
Visited May 2017

Phil Tripadvisor - May 25, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar A Very Memorable Day
Nicci has helped put together a really wonderful food and wine experience in the Yarra Valley for our group of 11 ladies. There was a lot of time and effort in the planning of this day and Nicci could not have been more accommodating. We visited 3 wineries and had a personalised tasting and/or tour at each one, plus a fabulous banquet lunch at another great venue. Our driver and tour guide extraordinaire was Bill who was fun, helpful and knowledgable ... loved the sing-a-long on the trip home!!
The tour was a great success and we look forward to taking another group of lucky people out with Epicurean again soon.

Lara
Small Gatherings

A Tripadvisor Member - May 24, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Day and Wine
We enjoyed our full day tour! We visited 4 wineries and enjoyed cheese and wine pairing and a delicious lunch. Bill was an excellent guide and was very accommodating. We highly recommend booking a tour with this company.
Visited May 2017

LoveToTravel8799 - May 23, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Day in the Yarra Valley
The day was paced well and incredibly enjoyable. Bill, our guide and driver, is knowledgeable about the area in general, and the vintners in particular. Each winery we visited was lovely and you felt like you were part of a special group! Lunch at Rochford was both efficient and scrumptious...and what a great (i.e. dangerous for your wallet) gift shop to boot. Bill was accommodating to our needs and just fabulous to take a tour with. Would highly recommend recommend to visitors to the area.
KJRTravel - May 26, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Epicurean Food and Wine Tours Yarra Valley
Right from the very start, with ease of booking and confirmation, I had that lovely feeling that I had hit the jackpot with my choice of wine tour to the Yarra Valley and I was right! Epicurean very cleverly have realsied that it is not the big and brassy that give their customers the best experience but the off the beaten track and boutique style wineries. Bill is an excellent story teller and conveys the Yarra Valley family experiences and passion for the region. I loved this tour and would highly recommend to all who want a day out of Melbourne. Epicurean are offering transfers for shortest lunch yarra valley 2017 that we will join them for.
WineFoodie - March 22, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar A great day!
We enjoyed a great day today touring the Yarra Valley.

Nicci helped us with the original booking, and today we where picked up and guided by Bill.

We loved the small group philosophy and friendly, family wineries we visited. Bill was really knowledgeable and helpful, and gave us options.

Lunch was delicious and the last winery we visited, Helen and Joey's was awesome!

We enjoyed the day with friends, and would recommend it. Thanks again Nicci and Bill!



GavRachS - May 29, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar A Great Way to Visit Wineries in the Yarra Valley
Bill made a visit to the Yarra Valley a great experience with his knowledge of the area & the local wineries. We visited 5 beautiful wineries & tasted some lovely wines & cheeses including a nice lunch. The small group made it a more personal & enjoyable tour. It was a fantastic way to spend my 51st birthday & would recommend this tour to anyone who is looking to visit the Yarra Valley region.



Scott566Payne - May 29, 2017
5 starstarstarstarstar Wonderful Day
A gorgeous day spent with the humorous and knowledgable Bill who guided our lovely group through the local food and wine of the Yarra Valley. Bill has an effortless and comfortable manner that worked to accommodate all our groups requests and questions. We meet the local wine makers, dined at a local winery, chatted to our wonderful travelling companions from around the world, explained the game of cricket and tried to decipher the words of " Waltzing Matilda."
All in all the day was a pleasure from start to finish, in our small group of 12. The tour was professional, our guide informative and caring and the wine and cheese spoke for themselves.
This tour is good introduction to the delights within the Yarra Valley.

Deanne Baker - January 01, 2015
5 starstarstarstarstar Speechless in Yarra Valley!
First off, kudos to Bill, our tour guide!! He shared a lot of information about the area and wine makers on the way to Yarra Valley wine country. He even made a photo stop so I could capture some kangaroos. 5 wineries with ample samples and a great lunch at Tokar. If you're in the area, this tour is a must if you enjoy wine. My tour group also made the trip fun and interactive.
Stacey M - January 09, 2015
5 starstarstarstarstar Perfect Wine Tour
Small is definitely best! This was the best wine tour we have been on. Bill is informative, knowledgable, flexible and good company. His close relationship with the owners means you get a high level of service and to taste a much wider variety of wine than on any other tour, pace yourself!
The cheese and wine tasting and the lunch on the terrace overlooking rolling hillsides covered in vines are outstanding, just like being in Tuscany. Just do it!

SGGG65 - January 04, 2015
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Day in the Yarra Valley
This 1 day Yarra Valley wine experience tour was hosted by our guide and driver Bill who collected us from our hotel in South Yarra at 9:00am.
We were also joined by 2 other guests from Melbourne & Japan.
Bill made every effort to make us feel comfortable, to get acquainted with each other and explain the tour and itinerary. A nice touch was the Podcast which he shared with the group which was a great introduction in understanding differences between great and not so good wines.
We visited 2 big valley producers i.e. De Bortoli and Domaine Chandon and two smaller family run wineries, Tokar, where we had a great lunch and Dominique Portet who makes an awesome Method Champenoise.
The best experience for us was chat with Graeme Miller, owner from Dixons Creek Estate, a pioneer in the Yarra Valley. What a wealth of knowledge, a true gentleman and an experience I will never forget. The 2012 Chardonnay is a knockout. Thanks Bill for making this happen and introducing us all to Graeme.

To end an awesome day, Bill stopped at Coldstream brewery on the way back to Melbourne for a "roadie" which was a nice touch. (Not sure I needed more - but why not, life is short! )
I would certainly recommend the Epicurean Food and Wine Experience as it was personal, fun and memorable. Thanks Bill for great day.

Mark S - December 29, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Tour into The Yarra Valley
Our day was hosted by Bill and it was a great day. We were joined by honeymoon couple Raphael and Carmen. So just 4 of us. Bill was a great host and allowed us all to relax at the various wineries. We booked the tour through the Best of Victoria team at the tourist office had a wonderful day. Ended up buying 24 bottles of Savingnon Blanc and them being shipped back to the UK

CrisReynolds - December 10, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Highly Reccomended!”
Our group of 11, booked a private tour around Mornington Penninsula and was 100% satisfied with the service that your company, and especially Bill (our driver), provided on Saturday.

Although we were completely unsatisfied with the service at t'gallant (at no fault of Epicurean), Bill was able to come up with a better alternative for enjoying the rest of the 2 hours before our next winery and completely saved the day (with beer and a bite to eat at Pig and Whistle)!

On the other hand, we absolutely loved the other 3 stops - Darling Park winery, Mooroduc Estate windery and Red Hill Brewery! Between those 3 we had about 15 different wine tastings and a paddle of beer.

Additionally, the company always replied promptly to my inquiries, which was greatly appreciated as we started to panic about finding an accommodating wine tour so last minute. Also, being able to pick the wineries/breweries we wanted to go to was a huge bonus!

I would highly recommend this company to any of my friends and family in the future!

Make sure you ask for BILL! He's a LEGEND!


Alexandra C - December 05, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Very memorable day
I'm so blessed that I booked this tour. When I was planning my trip to Melbourne, I had found this tour Company and decided this was the trip I wanted to do - but wasn't sure of my itinerary so decided to book while I was in Melbourne. I was pretty sure I could leave it to close to the last minute as it wasn't peak season and I would probably go during a week day. When I decided on my day I went to book and the day was showing as sold. SO I contacted the Company and...long story short...after a bit of juggling I was able to attend on my preferred day.

We were a small group, with Bill as our guide. Bill was entertaining and related well with each member of the group. I enjoyed the variety of wineries that we visited and the fact that there was food of some nature at each visit. The lunch at Domaine Chandon while spectacular from a environment persecutive was average from a food perspective (very tough meat) but a great entree platter and a lovely break in the day.

Next time I would like to do the penguins tour! Thanks for the introduction tot he awesome Yarra Valley. My red wines are in the cellar ageing.

travellingbuzz - November 28, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Great way to experience the Yarra
Thanks Bill for a great day visiting the Yarra Valley. The tour you provided was brilliant and we look forward to coming back for the penguin tour next time we visit Melbourne.

Bec F - November 07, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Excellent food and wine journey
This small group adventure was both fun and informative. Bill, our guide, provided a steady source of good information about the locale, the histories of the wineries, wine making in general, and was able to answer questions and add details. The wine country was beautiful, the wineries were very accommodating , the food and wines were lovely. This was a great experience.

Miki063 - November 04, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Really fun and cruisey
My partner and I (we are both 22) went on the Yarra Valley wine tour and it was amazing. The tour was small with only one other couple present allowing us to take our time at each of the wineries and get the most out of our trip. While the tour was a little more pricey than other tours it was well worth it to have such a personalized experience. We were also never made to feel inferior with our limited wine knowledge which was a really fantastic way for us to initiate our wine adventures. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a one of a kind experience.
- October 27, 2014
5.0 out of 5 33
© Copyright Epicurean Tours - Designed by Entice Web Design