Reviews



Rating average of 5.0/5 stars from 10 reviews.
5 starstarstarstarstar Wonderful Day
A gorgeous day spent with the humorous and knowledgable Bill who guided our lovely group through the local food and wine of the Yarra Valley. Bill has an effortless and comfortable manner that worked to accommodate all our groups requests and questions. We meet the local wine makers, dined at a local winery, chatted to our wonderful travelling companions from around the world, explained the game of cricket and tried to decipher the words of " Waltzing Matilda."
All in all the day was a pleasure from start to finish, in our small group of 12. The tour was professional, our guide informative and caring and the wine and cheese spoke for themselves.
This tour is good introduction to the delights within the Yarra Valley.

Deanne Baker - January 01, 2015
5 starstarstarstarstar Speechless in Yarra Valley!
First off, kudos to Bill, our tour guide!! He shared a lot of information about the area and wine makers on the way to Yarra Valley wine country. He even made a photo stop so I could capture some kangaroos. 5 wineries with ample samples and a great lunch at Tokar. If you're in the area, this tour is a must if you enjoy wine. My tour group also made the trip fun and interactive.
Stacey M - January 09, 2015
5 starstarstarstarstar Perfect Wine Tour
Small is definitely best! This was the best wine tour we have been on. Bill is informative, knowledgable, flexible and good company. His close relationship with the owners means you get a high level of service and to taste a much wider variety of wine than on any other tour, pace yourself!
The cheese and wine tasting and the lunch on the terrace overlooking rolling hillsides covered in vines are outstanding, just like being in Tuscany. Just do it!

SGGG65 - January 04, 2015
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Day in the Yarra Valley
This 1 day Yarra Valley wine experience tour was hosted by our guide and driver Bill who collected us from our hotel in South Yarra at 9:00am.
We were also joined by 2 other guests from Melbourne & Japan.
Bill made every effort to make us feel comfortable, to get acquainted with each other and explain the tour and itinerary. A nice touch was the Podcast which he shared with the group which was a great introduction in understanding differences between great and not so good wines.
We visited 2 big valley producers i.e. De Bortoli and Domaine Chandon and two smaller family run wineries, Tokar, where we had a great lunch and Dominique Portet who makes an awesome Method Champenoise.
The best experience for us was chat with Graeme Miller, owner from Dixons Creek Estate, a pioneer in the Yarra Valley. What a wealth of knowledge, a true gentleman and an experience I will never forget. The 2012 Chardonnay is a knockout. Thanks Bill for making this happen and introducing us all to Graeme.

To end an awesome day, Bill stopped at Coldstream brewery on the way back to Melbourne for a "roadie" which was a nice touch. (Not sure I needed more - but why not, life is short! )
I would certainly recommend the Epicurean Food and Wine Experience as it was personal, fun and memorable. Thanks Bill for great day.

Mark S - December 29, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Great Tour into The Yarra Valley
Our day was hosted by Bill and it was a great day. We were joined by honeymoon couple Raphael and Carmen. So just 4 of us. Bill was a great host and allowed us all to relax at the various wineries. We booked the tour through the Best of Victoria team at the tourist office had a wonderful day. Ended up buying 24 bottles of Savingnon Blanc and them being shipped back to the UK

CrisReynolds - December 10, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Highly Reccomended!”
Our group of 11, booked a private tour around Mornington Penninsula and was 100% satisfied with the service that your company, and especially Bill (our driver), provided on Saturday.

Although we were completely unsatisfied with the service at t'gallant (at no fault of Epicurean), Bill was able to come up with a better alternative for enjoying the rest of the 2 hours before our next winery and completely saved the day (with beer and a bite to eat at Pig and Whistle)!

On the other hand, we absolutely loved the other 3 stops - Darling Park winery, Mooroduc Estate windery and Red Hill Brewery! Between those 3 we had about 15 different wine tastings and a paddle of beer.

Additionally, the company always replied promptly to my inquiries, which was greatly appreciated as we started to panic about finding an accommodating wine tour so last minute. Also, being able to pick the wineries/breweries we wanted to go to was a huge bonus!

I would highly recommend this company to any of my friends and family in the future!

Make sure you ask for BILL! He's a LEGEND!


Alexandra C - December 05, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Very memorable day
I'm so blessed that I booked this tour. When I was planning my trip to Melbourne, I had found this tour Company and decided this was the trip I wanted to do - but wasn't sure of my itinerary so decided to book while I was in Melbourne. I was pretty sure I could leave it to close to the last minute as it wasn't peak season and I would probably go during a week day. When I decided on my day I went to book and the day was showing as sold. SO I contacted the Company and...long story short...after a bit of juggling I was able to attend on my preferred day.

We were a small group, with Bill as our guide. Bill was entertaining and related well with each member of the group. I enjoyed the variety of wineries that we visited and the fact that there was food of some nature at each visit. The lunch at Domaine Chandon while spectacular from a environment persecutive was average from a food perspective (very tough meat) but a great entree platter and a lovely break in the day.

Next time I would like to do the penguins tour! Thanks for the introduction tot he awesome Yarra Valley. My red wines are in the cellar ageing.

travellingbuzz - November 28, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Great way to experience the Yarra
Thanks Bill for a great day visiting the Yarra Valley. The tour you provided was brilliant and we look forward to coming back for the penguin tour next time we visit Melbourne.

Bec F - November 07, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Excellent food and wine journey
This small group adventure was both fun and informative. Bill, our guide, provided a steady source of good information about the locale, the histories of the wineries, wine making in general, and was able to answer questions and add details. The wine country was beautiful, the wineries were very accommodating , the food and wines were lovely. This was a great experience.

Miki063 - November 04, 2014
5 starstarstarstarstar Really fun and cruisey
My partner and I (we are both 22) went on the Yarra Valley wine tour and it was amazing. The tour was small with only one other couple present allowing us to take our time at each of the wineries and get the most out of our trip. While the tour was a little more pricey than other tours it was well worth it to have such a personalized experience. We were also never made to feel inferior with our limited wine knowledge which was a really fantastic way for us to initiate our wine adventures. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for a one of a kind experience.
- October 27, 2014
5.0 out of 5 10
© Copyright Epicurean Tours - Designed by Entice Web Design